Lacing ‘Em Up Again… Finally.

Posted: September 23, 2009 in Marathon
Tags:

After sitting around for two weeks waiting for my legs to feel better, I finally decided to lace ’em up again and go for a run.

It was one day earlier than I had expected, but I felt good and decided to give it a shot. It was just a nice leisurely 3.8-mile run around the neighborhood, but I am determined not to push too hard just yet.

During my layoff, I spoke with Dr. Missy Holas, a physical therapist I know who works with numerous local athletes, including many of the Atlanta Thrashers. Among the many things we discussed, she suggested that I use a Tens Unit on my legs after each run.

By using electrodes to stimulate the muscles after each run,  my legs will be able to make a quicker recovery. So that’s what I did for 15 minutes on each calf.

electrodes

For me, this was the first time I had ever tried this, so it’s too early to tell if I will benefit from it.  But what do I have to lose, I figure.

I plan to go for a 5-miler on Thursday and possibly 12 Miles on Sunday, depending how I feel.  So far, so good.

Comments
  1. mom says:

    Hi Mike went to the rehab unit at cmmc yesterday to visit someone saw all the pts and they were surprised to see how well I was doing. They called Tom up to see me he gave me a big hug and said you just made my day, asked about you,and said to say Hi to all my children. That thing you are using on your leg is what they used on my arm. Love Mom

Leave a Reply

