I’m on Lance’s team! … and I’m hurtin’

Posted: September 11, 2009 in Marathon
Tags: ,

Well, I finally did it… And it aint good.

I have run so much over the past 2 months that I now have to completely stop running. My shin splints have gotten so bad that it hurts even when I walk. I have decided to take 2 complete weeks off. This is beyond disappointing.

Mentally, it was a very hard decision. But physically, I know that it’s something that I HAVE to do if I have any hope of running the marathon in seven weeks.

I was supposed to run my first 20-miler on Saturday, but now won’t be running at all. I tried to run 5 miles while in Toronto on Thursday and had to stop twice and walk due to the pain in my shins. My tibial tendonitis has just been getting worse and worse.

I simply think I have been running too much and not allowing my legs to recover. This is just sheer stubbornness on my part. I plan to go see my podiatrist again in the coming days. I’m also going to look into getting some different shoes.

From what I can tell, my pain is also be made worse because of the overpronation in my stride. In talking with several friends who have suffered from the same issue, after they bought some shoes that were specifically made to combat the problem — which is one of the most common injuries among runners — the pain went away.

I’m hoping for the same results.

I never ended up getting the Mizunos I had talked about in my previous post. Instead I got these Nikes.

Turns out, I didn’t do enough research. The Runner’s World review is all over the map with customer comments. Many runners seemed to love them, others were not-so-loving with their comments. This is no knock on Nike. I’m sure these shoes are more than adequate, they just don’t seem to be right for me.

A colleague of mine has these shoes and absolutely LOVES them. Perhaps, after a fitting at a local running store, I will give these a try if they are recommended for me.  I need help, quick.

Main image for GEL-Kayano® 15

Enough bad news. Here’s a huge bit of GREAT news:

I will be running the marathon as part of the Lance Armstrong Foundation NYC09 Marathon Team. I’m psyched. There are about 250 of us on the team. So far, the team has raised about $350,000 for LAF. If you want to donate to the cause, here is the link to my page. There is also a direct link to donate now in the upper right corner of this page.

I appreciate any and all donations, no matter how big or small. Thanks in advance.

RUNNING PLAYLIST

Recently, a friend had asked for some running song suggestions. These songs are completely subject to personal preference, but here are some that are currently on my playlist.

Song – Artist

“Apertura” – Gustavo Santaolalla (Motorcycle Diaries)

“Butterfly” – Crazy Town

“Hoppipolla” – Sigur Ros

“One Tree Hill” – U2

“Sumertime” – The Sundays

“Tick Tick Boom” – The Hives

“When the Weight Comes Down” – The Tragically Hip

“Fascination Street” – The Cure

“Asking me Lies” – The Replacements

“The Pretender” – Foo Fighters

“Queen of the Furrows” – The Tragically Hip

“Where U at Rock?” – Kid Rock

“Lebanese Blonde” – Thievery Corporation

“The Rake’s Song” – The Decemberists

“Whisper as we Walk” – Ry Jarred

These songs are a mix of rock, rap, acoustic guitar, fast, slow and a little bit of everything in between.

I also like to run to Alexi Murdoch, but I can’t remember the names of enough of his songs. I just know I like him.

That’s it for now.  Over the next two weeks, I will be running vicariously through others, so keep going. And when you do, think of me.

Comments
  1. Barbie says:

    I had tibial tendonitis probably 2 months into my training to Nike and I did not want to stop running so I would come in from running in tears it hurt so bad. Def. take some time off, rest is really the only thing that will make you feel better! But, you can stay active… I biked, used the elliptical, and ran in the pool. I hope you get better soon and get back to running!!

  2. mom says:

    sorry that you hurt. rest up and i hope you cane run the race love mom

Leave a Reply

