Yo Jersey!

Posted: August 26, 2009 in Marathon
Tags: ,

So, I was back in Jersey for the first time in awhile.  I spent 20 years in the Garden State before moving to South in 2003. It was good to be back home.

water

After getting the good news from the doctor about my lack of a stress fracture, I planned to do a few runs during my stay. I have an 18-miler coming up on Saturday, so I knew I had to break in my new insoles and keep my legs fresh.

On my first morning, I went for a quick 3-miler along the waterfront in Jersey City and was REALLY surprised how nice it was. The hotel I was staying at, the Westin Jersey City – Newport, was located right across the street from the waterfront.

As a bonus, the hotel provides guests with an index card that maps out 3-mile and 5-mile running routes. The routes were a tad bit confusing to follow, but I figured it out. That college education is finally paying off for me.

911The routes both took me along the boardwalk area and sidewalks with views of Lower Manhattan at every turn.

At one point, I run past a small 9-11 memorial. It’s an important reality check.

boats

As I look at the Lower Manhattan skyline, I take special notice of where the Twin Towers stood and flash back to that day and imagine what it must have been like for those in Jersey City watching it all unfold. To be so close, yet so helpless. Gone, but not forgotten.

After two days of running along the waterfront, I am dreading what the weather will hold in store for me on Saturday in Atlanta. 18 miles in hot, humid conditions could prove to be the toughest test yet. Oddly, I look forward to the challenge.

Comments
  1. Newport says:

    PLEASE DO COME BACK FOR OUR HALF MARATHON IN THE FALL AND 10K IN THE SPRING!

    http://www.newporthalfmarathon.com/

    http://www.newport10k.com/

  2. mom says:

    glad you are enjoying N.J. again love mom

Leave a Reply

