It’s DARK outside at 6 a.m.

Posted: August 18, 2009 in family, Marathon

So, today was my first day running in the morning since the kids returned to school. This has added a whole new wrinkle to my training schedule.

It appears that this is going to be a bit of a chore. Both kids are going to elementary school this year (One is in Kindergarten and the other is in 4th grade) and need to get on their way by 7:30.  Because of this, I have to get up at 6 a.m., so I can be back in the house by 6:45 to help get them up and ready.

Today I did my usual 4-mile (3.8 actually) route. I got out the door at 6:07 and returned at 6:35… 28 minutes.  Average pace:  7:16. It was a good run, but there’s one MAJOR difference running at that time: IT’S DARK OUT!

When running through the neighborhood, I find myself having to remain very alert for traffic coming at me. I’m sure most drivers at this time are having their morning coffee and not really paying too much attention to the road. It gets worse when I get out on the main road. Over the final mile, there’s a dirt path I run on along the edge of the road. This path has small rocks and tree roots that stick out of the ground. During the day, I can see them easily and avoid stepping on them. (I don’t want to twist my ankle.) But at 6:20 a.m., it’s hard to see exactly where I’m stepping so I have to be cautious.

Perhaps, I might have to look into getting one of these:

headlightSure, it might look a bit dorky, but it beats getting hit by a car… I would think.

As I was running, it dawned on me that I wasn’t even sure how many miles were on the schedule for today. When I finished, I saw that I was supposed to do 5 miles, not 4. I guess this makes up for the 4 miles I ran on Sunday when I was only supposed to do 3. It all evens out in the end, I suppose.

Tomorrow also calls for 5 miles. That should add another 7-8 minutes to the run, meaning I will have to make sure I’m out the door before 6:10 to be back in time for school to start.

Then it’s 4 on Thursday and 12 on Saturday. Next week is a BIG week. Saturday calls for 18 miles. Oofdah!

Comments
  1. mom says:

    Hi Mike your a good dad to help to get the kids off to school. get a head light so you doin’t get hit by a car love mom

Leave a Reply

