That Was a Dumb Idea!

Posted: July 23, 2009 in Marathon

I learned a valuable lesson this morning while in Hoover, Alabama. Make sure you plan your runs better!

After quickly mapping my daily 4-mile run the night before, I left my hotel at 6:10 a.m. and was greeted by a foggy, humid haze. Yuck. But that wasn’t the biggest issue. Turns out the road I had mapped Hoover Marriott 4-miler
was a 4-lane state highway. Oops.

Thankfully, at that time of the morning, there wasn’t too much traffic but it still got a bit hairy at times. The biggest issue came when I had to cross a bridge that ran across a river for about 200 yards. With the river roaring about 500 feet below and traffic whizzing by me, I began to wonder when exactly it was that I officially lost my mind.

Here’s the Google Map of the location.

I was quickly comforted when I spotted a guy across the bridge running just as quickly in the opposite direction. We gave each other a brief “thank-goodness-I’m-not-the-only-crazy-person” wave and kept moving.

On a related note, I’m in Alabama for the Southeastern Conference football media days. To say that SEC football fans are “enthusiastic” is putting it mildly, as you can see by the following picture.

bamamama

Leave a Reply

